Doctors Overwhelmed Too By Mobile Health Apps: Illuminating Infographic from HealthWorks Collective

Posted on June 26, 2012 by

3


Just a few weeks ago I wrote a post on why doctors might not be leaping to hop on the mHealth bandwagon.

What I didn’t realize until seeing the article on HealthWorks Collective, “Mobile App Overload for Doctors,” is that physicians, even more than the rest of us, are suffering from App-Overwhelm.

When the infographic notes that physicians download many apps, but use only a few–couldn’t it be talking about any one of us?

[I don't like to say how many apps I have taking up mental space on my iPhone, that seemed like a good idea at the time of purhcase, and sit there, rusting their application mechanisms away. I won't even tell you how many reminder calendars I've downloaded--only to always be behind the eight ball when it comes to dates for family parties, nor how many apps I've got in there that I mean to use to research for this blog, or how many 'trackers' I've put in to keep track of expenses or medicines or stock trades--that sit slumbering like the space-hogging sponges they are, awaiting some actual input.]

So the fact that a whopping 45% of doctors have downloaded over 50 apps tells me both that those doctors are really trying–and that they’ve certainly bitten off more than they can chew, confirmed by the stat below that 83.5% of docs have apps they don’t use.

Look closely at the bottom of the infographic–and come back up here to chat with me.

*********************************************************************************************************************************

Okay–you saw it right?

That list of the top 10 apps downloaded by doctors?

You thought it might have  been Medscape, Medcalc, Pocket Lab Values, Doximity–some such lineup, right?

And what is there?

Facebook, Twitter, Words With Friends (so that’s what the doc was busily typing in his tablet while I was going on about my arthritis!), and–but of course-ESPN.

I guess it helps us remember sometimes–when it comes existing in a world of unlimited downloadable opportunities–sometimes our expert surgeons are not so very different from ourselves: trying to make mHealth work, fairly overwhelmed, and jonesing for some sports coverage on a stressful day.